"Hell on Wheels" ride of 839 kilometres

Harriet Woodrow, Tony Keogh, Doug Jenkins who are taking part in this years event called "Hell on Wheels".
Harriet Woodrow, Tony Keogh, Doug Jenkins who are taking part in this years event called "Hell on Wheels".

A sponsored bike ride for the Westpac Rescue Helicopter starts this weekend.  It’s a grueling 839 kilometre ride over 13 days and the 33 riders have sought sponsorship.

This year’s tour will be the final running of the annual event.  Over a fifth of a century, it’s raised nearly $500,000 for the rescue helicopter service.

Riders will be hard to miss as they travel as a group in their bright blue and yellow jerseys.  The organisers say:  “Local communities along the tour route can show their support for the riders by donating online at helirescue.com.au/donate or in person by purchasing merchandise or raffle tickets from the riders along the way.”

This is the route for the tour: 

Day 1 - Saturday 7 October 2017 - Lismore to Lightning Ridge (by Bus)

Day 2 - Sunday 8 October 2017 - Lightning Ridge Day Tour

Day 3 - Monday 9 October 2017 - Lightning Ridge Tour to Collarenebri  (79.9km)

Day 4 - Tuesday 10 October 2017 - Collarenebri to Moree (133.3km)

Day 5 - Wednesday 11 October 2017 - Moree to Gravesend (79.8km)

Day 6 - Thursday 12 October 2017 - Gravesend to Ashford (94km)

Day 7 - Friday 13 October 2017 - Ashford to Deepwater (87.8km)

Day 8 - Saturday 14 October 2017 - Deepwater to Tenterfield (65.9km)

Day 9 - Sunday 15 October 2017 – Tenterfield Rest Day

Day 10 - Monday 16 October 2017 - Tenterfield to Killarney (103.7km)

Day 11 - Tuesday 17 October 2017 - Killarney to Woodenbong (68km)

Day 12 - Wednesday 18 October 2017 - Woodenbong to Casino (99km)

Day 13 - Thursday 19 October 2017 - Casino to Lismore (28km)

This story Bikes to help the chopper first appeared on Glen Innes Examiner.