New appointments

Now two divisions.

Now two divisions.

Tenterfield Shire Council has transitioned from a three-department structure to two distinct divisions, with a closed meeting on Thursday, May 11, to finalise the appointments of the new division heads.

While Tenterfield Star understands some councillors were unhappy with the appointments, Mayor Peter Petty would not elaborate on the issues raised at the confidential meeting, except to say that all were resolved. 

Kylie Smith – who was involved in council’s roll out of its new community engagement platform – has been appointed Chief Corporate Officer managing the Corporate, Governance and Community Division. The division oversees finance and technology; governance and performance; HR and workforce development; community and economic development. Ms Smith commenced her appointment on Monday, May 15. Cr Petty said with General Manager Damien Connor taking planned leave she immediately assumed the role of acting general manager.

The new Infrastructure and Services Division – headed by the Chief Operating Officer – oversees transport infrastructure; water-cycle and waste management; public facilities and space; community planning and regulation; plant, fleet and equipment. Andre Kompler has been appointed Chief Operating Officer, and starts work on Monday, May 22.

The mayor’s feelings of resolution are not shared throughout council, with the majority of councillors having sought more time to address the appointments.

Of the three former department heads, James Ruprai had already vacated his position for a move to North Queensland. Stephen Bell and Allan Shorter were unsuccessful in their bids for one of the new posts.

Mr Connor said earlier that the restructure won’t have a short-term cost gain as resources are redirected to boost strategic planning capabilities in middle management. There will be long-term gains as efficiencies are realised down the track.