Tenterfield Shire Council candidates include five current councillors

Tom Peters and John Macnish are Tenterfield's longest serving councillors.
Tom Peters and John Macnish are Tenterfield's longest serving councillors.

Tenterfield's two longest serving councillors, Tom Peters and John Macnish, have both indicated they hope to extend their time on council beyond 20 years.

The pair are among five current councillors who have said they will be standing again when the Tenterfield Shire Council election is held on September 4.

"I like it and I've still got things to do," Cr Macnish said.

Mayor Peter Petty, deputy mayor Greg Sauer and Bronwyn Petrie also confirmed to the Tenterfield Star that they would nominate again, while both Don Forbes and Brian Murray say they are undecided at this stage.

"I haven't given it very much thought but I have to do that soon," Cr Murray said.

"Other things are going on in my world and I haven't got 'round to that yet.

"I have other business interests that need attention from time to time and sometimes they are going well and at other times they are not going so well and that takes up my time," he said.

Three councillors - Michael Petrie, Gary Verri and Bob Rogan - will not be running at the election.

Cr Petrie has served 13 years since he was elected in 2008, and Bob Rogan said as he would soon be leaving town for health reasons he would not stand again.

There are already two new candidates in D Ward, which Cr Rogan will be departing, with Kim Rhodes and Giana Saccon nominating.

The third new candidate, Peter Wallace, is in C Ward.

Cr Rogan was the only councillor who was not elected at the last general election five years ago.

He was elected to council in August 2017 when a by-election was called to fill the vacancy left with the passing of Cr John Martin.

But he served four years, which is the length of a normal term, when the council election was not held last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Two candidates are elected for each ward, to represent that area.

The nomination period officially opens Monday, July 26 and closes strictly at midday on Wednesday, August 4.

The confirmed candidates are in the following wards:

A Ward: Peter Petty.

B Ward: Bronwyn Petrie and John Macnish.

C Ward: Tom Peters and Peter Wallace.

D Ward: Kim Rhodes and Giana Saccon.

E Ward: Greg Sauer.